An Introduction

Where to start?

For those who know me, here’s my blog.

For those who know me only kind of, here’s my blog (And yeah, I’m joining the Peace Corps, crazy, right?)

For those who don’t know me, you’re a creep and I’m unsure why you’re on this page.

I figured I’d better start one of these things, just in case during placement I’ve got internets. Right now I’ve got constant internet access, so explaining how I got into this whole thing is going to be easier if I do it before I’ve got crappy signal or a goat chewing through my Ethernet cord.

Let’s do a time line, shall we?

1989: An amazing bundle of joy appears

1991: Achey breaky heart extremely popular. Mullet ensues.

1998: Spice Girls tours. Apex of humanity reached.

Was that not the time line you were looking for? My b.

I decided I was going to join the Peace Corps when I was around 16 or 17. My dad had filled me in on what it was when I was much younger, but I didn’t give it a lot of thought until the subject of college arose and the possibility of having a job afterward. Since I knew I wasn’t going to get a job, the Peace Corps it was! Only kidding, I was actually pretty attracted to what the P.C. was all about. For those of you who aren’t so familiar, visit http://www.PeaceCorps.gov, or read my summary here:

The Peace Corps is a service organization that sends volunteers of any age (above 18) in relatively good physical shape to developing countries to aid in subject like teaching English, agricultural assistance, HIV/AID prevention, health education, and community development. Volunteers are abroad for 27 months, three months of training and two years of service.

For anyone who knows my family, you probably recognize that I won the life lottery with these guys. I couldn’t have asked for a more privileged upbringing, and because of that I feel like I need to balance it out with some giving of my own. The Peace Corps sounded like a serious way to impact someone’s life in a positive manner and I decided it was more up my alley than say, donating 10 bucks. I figured do it while I was younger, lest I be trapped by the real world. Going to college early got me out in three years, getting me one step closer to Peace Corpshood.

Now, without further adieu, here is my time line:

June 2010: Initial Peace Corps application sent. Or submitted. It was all online.

July 2010: Peace Corps interview at the Atlanta Office. Interview supposed to be one hour. Talked too much, bumped that sucka’ up to two. Made interviewer genuinely wipe away tears of laughter.

July 28th 2010: Georgia is awesomely, fantastically nominated to serve in the realm of community development in SubSaharan, Fracophone Africa, leaving June 2011. This means you, Cameroon, Benin, Togo, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Mali and Madagascar!

August 2010: Get medical packet in the mail. It is ginormous.

December 2010: Finally, finally, finally completed the bane of my existence– the Peace Corps Medical Packet. This is by far the most extensive testing of my body ever. I give over 12 vials of blood (ultimate fear conquered), get three fillings, see countless doctors, fight off one giant cold that sidelined my medical review for a month, prove I don’t have a thyroid thing, lose 25lbs so that the Peace Corps thinks I’m less fat, get poked and prodded in every way possible and perfect the art of having amazing blood pressure. 115/75, player-haters. As it turns out, I’m fit as a fiddle and there should be no reason why the Peace Corps rejects me.

[insert a retarded long wait here. ]

March 2011: The Peace Corps lets me know that now, over 100 days after they get my pounds of paperwork, is when they’ll start to review my medical packet. Oh, and that I really did need that polio booster that my doctor looked and said “Pssshhh, nobody needs these things anymore!”.

So, here I am. I faxed the proof that I am boosted beyond belief for polio. The wait continues. I figure in the meantime I can set up a nice base for a blog. You know, so when people look at this 200 years from now they get a good, rounded back story.

3 thoughts on “An Introduction

  1. Oh my god hilarious…I can already tell I’m going to love reading your blog. I think starting a blog before I left the states was one of the best decisions I made. It’s a nice time to reflect, and also inform others so you don’t have to tell them same story a million times!

  2. You make me ridiculously proud to have ever been your teacher. Honest. I know you were great when I got you and great when I gave you back to the world…so there is precious little credit I can take..but holy crap! I’ll take it! To know I was there and involved AT ALL in the formation of this wonderful person–I feel very excited to watch you head out into, what will surely be, an amazing life.

Leave a Reply

