Mr. Postman, bring me a dream. (bum bum bum bum)

Because today might be my very last day without knowing where I’m going, I wanted to give everyone a little insight into what it feels like to experience both the shortest and longest wait of my life. (Unless it doesn’t come today, then I revert to Monday being my very last day. Regardless:)

I have not slept right for three nights now. Three days ago I saw the phone lighting up with the call from the Placement Office and since then I’ve been unable to think of anything else. You should have seen my face when I saw the number appear on the phone. ( It looked like this :O )I produced a number of maniacal laughs and a short dance around my apartment before actually pressing that little green button on my cellphone to talk to my officer.

The interview went smashingly! I rambled a little, as I am wont to do, but managed to hit on all of her major points before she was able to inquire about them. I kept getting feedback that was all “great” and “wonderful” or “just what we’re looking for”. You have no idea, after receiving several emails a while back telling you that you’re just not what they’re looking for, how awesome it is to hear those words. I was so worried that my phone conversation with Placement would be summarized in a few sentences telling me that they still didn’t think I was up to par for volunteering. Instead, I got a happy and enthused officer telling me she had been looking forward to placing this call.

We talked for about a half hour. I got a few good laughs out of her when I explained that I felt sure that I would be to deal with a culture foreign to my own with different standards that sometimes require eating crow or being humble because of my customer service background. I explained that a combo of babysitting and dealing with football fans at my job (and really, what is the difference?) has gotten me well versed in grinning and baring it. I know I’m right sometimes, but I just have to be right on the inside, where the client can’t see.

Then, she wrapped up the interview and let me know the best, best, best news: I was officially being invited to Sub-Saharan Africa. She let me know that spots were going very quickly and that she had searched high and low for exactly what she thought I wanted and would fit me. I got to choose whether I wanted to be a community developer dealing more in the health sector or whether I wanted to be youth developer. I asked for her opinion and she said that she was confident I was friendly enough to be a integral part of the community wherever I went, so she’d like to invite me to work with children, where she thought I’d be especially effective.

So here I am, waiting on the letter. Just in time for Father’s Day! I know its kind of an iffy gift to give to my Dad (Happy Father’s Day – I’m leaving to a poor African country soon for a really long time!), but hopefully they’re a mixture of proud and excited and scared like I am instead of just scared.

In honor of Father's Day, here's a picture of Dad and Sister with me on graduation. He's the best! (She is, too)

2 thoughts on “Mr. Postman, bring me a dream. (bum bum bum bum)

  1. Your parents are misty-eyed and anxious, but very, very happy for you. We are so proud of the person you are and we know that the Africans are in for a treat!

Leave a Reply

