Cameroon 2

Hey everybody!

Sorry for the long wait between posting.

Africa is good. I have a host family with three kids, ages 2, 4, and 9. They’re really patient and really nice since I speak mostly French now, especially when I’m outside of school.

I’ve seen more things I wasn’t ready for, like puppies tearing apart a chicken or a goat being walked like a dog. I’ve been ripped off once, then found the guy’s house and had his wife yell at him. Then,had an old man come and yell at me about how awful Americans are. So far, I’ve been proposed to three times. Apparently, I’m a hot Cameroonian commodity.

I’ve played on my Ipod with my host family, laughed over jokes completely in French, and found out that plantains are the most delicious thing I’ve eaten in a long time. The other volunteers are really great and I’ve made a couple friends, which help when I’m missing home. I’ve gotten to talk to my boyfriend and my parents and while it made me a little homesick after, it was nice to touch base with them again.

I STILL haven’t managed to upload pictures to my computer, and for that I’m sorry. Soon, soon, I promise! Hopefully, tomorrow. For those who are friends with me on facebook, there are some on there. For other who are not, you can see a few pictures with this link:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1828189780892.2094569.1124730015&l=ee052d3683&type=1

(some of these pictures are pre-Cameroon)

I hear that back home fall is starting to come, which is amusing since it is the cool season here, too… Only a balmy 80 or so. Soon the hot season will come, and along with it a lack of rain. Should be fun. It is super beautiful here, though. I guess you get some flowers with the rain.

I’ll write more later, but for now I only have internet on Thursday, Saturdays and Sunday. Feel free to write me emails if you have any questions/comments/concerns and I’ll check on one of those days!

One thought on “Cameroon 2

  1. It was so great to talk to you! We are still trying to figure out how we can add money to your phone for you. That site works only if our billing address is in France. Surely there is a similar site in the U.S., though, so we’ll keep at it. We will ask the other Peace Corps parents. At a minimum, how about we give Garrett a calling card for your birthday? You look fantastic! What color eyebrows will you be sporting this Sunday? Who loves you? Mom loves you! We ALL love you and we are proud of you.

Leave a Reply

