Beers and Rainstorms

I don’t have a heck of a lot to write, but you guys want updates, so I’ll give you updates.
By far the most exciting thing I had happen this week was the arrival of the package I sent to myself before heading out of the country. Well, my parents sent it… but I picked out the stuff!
You have no idea how quickly a bag of pretzel M & Ms will disappear around a hoard of hungry PCTs (Peace Corps Trainees). The second bag disappeared when I got home and my homestay family quickly devoured it.

Things are going well. French is frustrating, but necessary for a decent two years here. Some days I wish I could just take a day off from constantly practicing my French, but I know I’ll need it later. Unless, of course, I’m posted to an Anglophone region.

My fellow PCTs are pretty awesome. I’ll go ahead and give a shout-out to Sarah, who’s sitting next to me. I’m on the computer that –doesn’t- shut off every 5 minutes, but she… she’s not so lucky. Three times now while sitting beside her, I’ve seen the computer randomly crash and her email be lost. Du courage, Sarah! The Peace Corps does a –really- great job at emphasizing how patient and flexible you need to be. Randomly crashing computers are the least of our worries.

I had kind of surreal moment yesterday that makes me realize that even though I’m having all these struggles, I’m a pretty lucky person . Fellow friends and I were getting some beers at the local boutique, positioned underneath a tree brimming with lorikeets, when some storm clouds formed and before we knew it, dumped buckets on our hang-out. We, several chickens, and all our beers piled into the shack beside the bar for cover. Needing to yell to be heard over the rain slamming the tin roof, we shared jokes, stories, and thoughts about topics like psychology. One by one, more trainees crept in to escape the rain from their various places around town and the shack filled. Among this torrential rainfall, I and several other people were having the time of our lives.

Though I’m usually dirty, always tired, and forever sweating, places like this feel like home faster when you have a group of people beside you toughing it out, too. It’s a different kind of home, one that fulfills the most basic of needs, but life isn’t bad here. I can understand why I haven’t heard one person so far complain of depression or inability to find happiness. Happiness is the most basic of things, here, something we’re all gifted even when times are tough. Through bucket baths, faulty computers, and all.

3 thoughts on “Beers and Rainstorms

  1. It’s so good to hear from you. I love your posts, you are a very good writer. I’m glad you have some equally brave and good spirited “fellows”. Love you G.

  2. I just wanted to say that I find your posts very interesting and informative. My son is over there and not as diligent about posting as you are. So I hope you do not mind if I stalk your blog so that I know what things are like for you PCT’s at the begining of your training.

Leave a Reply

