10 things I never thought I’d say

I’ve done and said a lot of things I never thought I would while in Cameroon. Though it has only been eight months, I’ve managed to get quite a collection going. Here are my top 10, so far, of things I never thought I’d say:

10. “So I went for a run this morning…”

9. “Put more pepe”

8. “Play ‘Chop my Money’ again!”

7. “2000 CFA (4 bucks) for a meal? I’m not made of money!”

6. “Do I smell coffee? Oh, no, just burning trash.”

5. “He’s two hours away? Oh, okay, so you guys are real close.”

4. “Look how tan my feet are! Wait, that’s just dirt.”

3. “Dog, get that pig skull off my couch!”

2. “Aw man, ants got in my cereal!”
“Eat it anyway”
“Oh, I was going to.”

1. “My biggest regret in life? Uh… one time I didn’t buy this Jurassic Park fabric at market. I really regret that.”

5 thoughts on “10 things I never thought I’d say

  1. “How do I get a recording of “Chop My Money”?!? That’s gonna be the name of my next album!”

    “Grandpa, what’s an ‘album’?”

  2. Chop for 2000CFA fit flop too people. Chop ma money forever. Ma foot dem doty, wata no bi san san. Ma foot dem doty wata no be san san. Chop for 200CFA fit flop too people. Park toli long but na time short. Chop for 2000CFA fit flop two people. Chop for 2000CFA fit flop too people.
    “dis song, If you fit si am from ya ‘text’, then charger for nokia fit charge Motorola. So, all text way e Small Make Sense.”

  3. Hi,
    I am Ryan Arnold’s mom. He sent one of your posts one day for me to read. I have enjoyed popping in since then and reading your posts…seeing how you are doing, seeing Cameroon through your eyes. My daughter, Jessica, was in Ghana last year teaching school. It is so difficult to be a single woman in Africa and even more so, a single white woman. So, having heard her thoughs on that, you pop up in my thoughts and prayers every now and then. Just wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed your list…you are certainly on a grand adventure that is stretching you and changing you! ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

